USS Hornet honorable mention

Well it was a banner day for my USS Hornet oil painting at the Alameda   paint out exhibition and competition. I won an honorable mention and sold the painting – to boot! Kudos to the other artists, too.  It was a great group of artists.

It was a windy morning when I started this 12×16 inch painting. I was lucky that I could paint with my umbrella clamped to the open trunk of my car.  I wanted to capture the bold energy of the ship. Even though it sits permanently docked I tried to make it feel like it was at sea. Prints are available.

More info about the plein air paint out at the Frank Bette Center site. paintout page link on site

Excerpt from the Bette Center page:

  • Over the course of five weekdays, typically towards the end of July and beginning of August, artists discover and paint outdoor scenes throughout Alameda.
  • Artists participate in a three-hour Quick Draw event during which they paint within a restricted and defined area for 2 hours.
  • On Saturday, from 11:00am to 6:00pm, all paintings are displayed and for sale at Alameda’s South Shore Shopping Center. Awards are announced at 1:00pm
  • After that, a juried selection of the exhibit moves to the Frank Bette Center Alameda for a Friday Opening Reception August 8, from 7:00pm to 9:00pm.
  • Exhibit is through end of August.

Leave a comment